We can only have our youthful physique for so long. But we can certainly double/triple our positive youthful imprints on the community for a long time to come – Desmond Choo

Ok, the comic strip was something that got me thinking when I was having Punggol Nasi Lemak supper with my activists 😉 That is quite an aside 🙂

I was inspired by one of my young volunteers.

She had been helping us out at the Coffee Session for about a year. Used to seek help but decided that she also could do more for the community. At the end of that session, she said to me, “Can we talk?” That is usually recipe for saying I’m going to take a break for while.

To my surprise, she flipped open her laptop and showed me her proposal on making our Sessions better! There were clear problems and solutions mapped out. She had gotten a couple of other youths to work out the proposal. It was something that I had dreamed about for so long! That my young volunteers would take the initiative, inject their idealism and creativity in the journey of service.

The future of the community belongs to the younger generation.

It is not as daunting a duty as many imagined. Quite frequently, it is about making those differences one small step at a time. Appreciating the past, and making sure that their youthful imprints are embedded in the solutions for today and tomorrow.

The team researched on the historical context. They pointed out problems that had blindsided me. And came out with very exciting ideas. I could see the passion and thoughtfulness. I could feel their eagerness to make that difference. They inspired me with their go-out-there-and-get-it-done energy!

The leaders of today will never have the monopoly of ideas. The youths and future leaders have to be the authority on solutions of our tomorrow. 

We can only have our youthful physique for so long. But we can certainly double/triple our positive youthful imprints on the community for a long time to come. Cheers!


Desmond Choo

Leave a Reply

